• Sespi

    Right leaning libertarian. Navy wife. Russian linguist. Dog lover. Insatiable reader. Catholic. Country music fan. Baker. Southern girl at heart (but not by birth).

  • Want to talk?


    E-mail me:

    neverdidthink
    (at) gmail (dot) com

    or


  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

Recipe: Buffalo Chicken Pizza

We love pizza around here. And when Amber Herself posted about pizza last week, it made me really want to make pizza. We debated between BBQ chicken pizza, red skin potato pizza (inspired by Mellow Mushroom!), or buffalo chicken pizza. Buffalo chicken pizza won (read: it was the only one that didn’t require me to go to the grocery store). We’ve made buffalo chicken pizza a few times, but I think we hit on the winning version today.

For the crust, we use the pizza dough recipe from Simply Recipes. I use AP flour and add gluten. Oh, and some garlic powder, because I love garlic. I also prebake the crust at 450 for a few minutes before I add the toppings.

For the toppings:

1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese
2 T buffalo wing sauce (it doesn’t sound like a lot, but it’s enough!)
Olive oil to brush on the crust (I used a little over a tablespoon)
4 oz cooked chicken breast, diced or shredded
1 cup shredded mozzarella

In the past, we’ve used either blue cheese dressing or ranch dressing as a base. Today, I chose to brush the crust with olive oil and sprinkle crumbled blue cheese over it – and then I wondered why I haven’t always made it that way!

Then I tossed on the chicken, drizzled buffalo wing sauce, and put on the mozzarella cheese (yes, I put the cheese on top of all the toppings – keeps the chicken from drying out too much while the pizza cooks). Put it in the oven at 450 for about 10 minutes until the cheese is melted and then wait impatiently for it to cool so you can eat it without burning the roof of your mouth.

Or just go ahead and burn your mouth. It’s probably worth it.

Oh, and for those counting calories? If you cut it into 8 pieces, each piece only has about 170 calories (according to My Fitness Pal). Not bad.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers