• Sespi

    Right leaning libertarian. Navy wife. Russian linguist. Dog lover. Insatiable reader. Catholic. Country music fan. Baker. Southern girl at heart (but not by birth).

  • Want to talk?


    E-mail me:

    neverdidthink
    (at) gmail (dot) com

    or


  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

What I’m Reading

Given that it’s only June and I’ve already read 55 romance novels this year, which is just a few less than I normally read in a YEAR, I decided I needed to make an effort to read some more educational books.

So this is what’s currently in the book queue:

(Would you ever guess that I was an inventory/merchandising supervisor at Borders from that picture? I really can create nice displays when I want to. Really.)

Ok, so that last book isn’t educational, but hey… all work and no play and all that… ;)

What are you reading right now?

12 Responses

  1. A fascinating list! I am currently reading How to Brew by John J. Palmer, recommended to me by some very kind and astute woman. :-) Fiction-wise, I’m in the middle of Kushiel’s Chosen by Jacqueline Carey. Neither is particularly heavy, but I reckon that’s acceptable for summertime.

    • I hope How to Brew has you home-brewing quickly! I’ve never heard of Jacqueline Carey, so I just looked up that book on Amazon – sounds interesting! Not my usual type of book, but I might give it a shot when I finish these.

      • Fantastic! Chosen is the second in the series; the first is Kushiel’s Dart. I enjoyed it, but be warned: there’s a fair bit of, ah, “alternative” sex in there (hey, the main character is a courtesan who happens to be into pain). The world of Terre D’Ange is so well-developed and the intrigue given so much depth that I felt the erotic stuff didn’t overshadow the richness of the story, if that makes sense.

      • Hmm… “Alternative” sex is what made me dislike the only series about Navy SEALs that I don’t read. But it was definitely the center point of the story. I’ll give it a shot and we’ll see what happens!

  2. I just finished The Help. It was really good. Next on my light summer reading list is Tina Fey’s Bossypants.

    • I keep forgetting about the Help! The preview for the movie looks really good and I want to read the book before I see the movie.

    • I read Bossypants, and it was pretty good. I’m a big TIna Fey fan anyway, so I figured I’d like it, but I don’t know, I always get a little disappointed when I read celebrity biographies. I don’t know if I just expect there to be something way more interesting than “regular” life or what, but even when they’re good, I’m always left feeling like I got cheated somehow. There’s definitely some interesting stuff about her teen/young adult years that sheds a whole new light on the idea behind Liz Lemon, though. Pretty funny.

  3. WOW! I thought I read a lot. I am only reading three books right now: Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse Series), Night Star by Alyson Noel and Venom by Jennifer Estep
    I have been on a Paranormal kick lately… I really need to branch out when I get through my iBook library.

    • Hello, my name is Sarah and I’m addicted to books :) Expect my level of reading to reduce drastically when I start working again…

  4. I’ve been reading a bunch of counseling books for school. Blah! But in between those, I sneak a few pages in A Discovery of Witches. I’m loving that book!

    • I’m on the waiting list at the library for that book! Another blogger reviewed it a while back and it definitely caught my interest.

  5. I just finished reading The Lost Hero and am now onto The Red Pyramid. Apparently I’m on a Rick Riordan kick at the moment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

