• Sespi

    Right leaning libertarian. Navy wife. Russian linguist. Dog lover. Insatiable reader. Catholic. Country music fan. Baker. Southern girl at heart (but not by birth).

  • Want to talk?


    E-mail me:

    neverdidthink
    (at) gmail (dot) com

    or


  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

Milspouse Friday Fill In #39

It’s Milspouse Friday Fill-In again, so head on over to Wife of a Sailor if you’re a milspouse (or significant other *ahem CJ*) and want to link up! And thanks to Wife of a Sailor for hosting again!

1. Have you and your spouse agreed to live in separate locations (a geographical bachelor tour) knowing that the short-term inconvenience would have long-term benefits for your family? How did it work for you? submitted by When Good People Get Together

Yes… I’ll be moving up to DC this summer to start a job and Chris will be staying in GA. Hopefully he’ll get STA-21 this year — are you tired of hearing me talk about that yet? ;) — and he can join me in DC in the spring of next year, otherwise he’ll be out of the Navy in 2013. Or maybe he’ll extend for orders to DC. Who knows. It should work out just fine though. DC isn’t that far from GA (a 9 hour drive/2.5 hour plane ride with a brief stop in Atlanta) and Chris is deployed all the time, so I don’t see him much anyway :P The only problem I anticipate is finding somewhere I can afford in DC with a yard for the dogs.

2. What is your favorite thing about being a MilSpouse? submitted by Sarah Ruth Today

Getting to move around without having to pack myself up or pay for it! I get itchy feet after staying somewhere for about 3 years, so the military is pretty much perfect.

3. If you could still have your spouse/significant other and your family, but take the military life out of it…would you? submitted by Trust. Love. Believe. Bake.

Probably not. I like the military and I don’t see it ever being completely out of our lives. I’m trying to get into the Reserve and if Chris gets out before retiring, he’ll switch to the Reserve too. And then there’s that whole Secretary of Defense thing in my future… yeah, we’re going to be involved with the military in one way or another forever.

4. What have your homecoming experiences been like after a year long tour of separation? submitted by Army Soldier, Army Wife

We don’t do year long tours of separation. We usually do 2-3 months, but 3-4 times a year. Homecomings are just… picking Chris up from the airport and bringing him home. And then I get used to him being home, and he’s gone again!

5. If you have a child(ren) why you chose their name(s)? If not, why you would name your child something? submitted by Tiara’s & ACU’s

I don’t have kids although I have future kids’ names picked out, but I’m keeping them secret so no one takes them. Instead, I’ll tell you about our dogs, both of whom were named by Chris. Bones is named after McCoy from the Original Star Trek series, because Chris wanted a Star Trek themed dog and he thought naming a dog Bones was funny. I wanted to continue the Star Trek theme by naming Shecky Dax, but Chris ix-nayed that one. So she’s named after Shecky Greene, a loveable oaf from days gone by, which works because Shecky is also a loveable oaf ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers